top of page

Mentor Reflection (Assignment 26)

Through the Honors Mentorship program, I shadowed under a veterinarian at the Pleasant Hill Animal Hospital. I learned so many new things and went through interesting experiences. I followed my veterinarian around and offered to help others do certain tasks. This led me to see many new things. For example, I was able to learn the process that a veterinarian goes through to create a treatment plan for a sick animal. It starts with meeting the animal and hearing the concerns from the owner. Then, diagnosing the animal based on its symptoms and giving it specific treatments. I also experienced giving animals shots, x-rays, and blood testing. These moments were extremely eye opening and fun to see.

I know that this mentorship will have a huge effect on my future. As not only did it prepare me for working in a medical field, it also gave me a perspective I never had before. I was able to learn how it would be like to have to take care of sick patients and what treatments need to be done. It also helped me understand the pain and suffering some patients go through and how death affects people. Interning at the animal hospital will give me experience that others will not have and let me stand out among other college applicants. Additionally, this program lets me see how being a veterinarian would be like. Experiences like this help me decide to pursue animal sciences in the future or not.

If I could have the option to do this again but in a different filed of medicine, I definitely would. Not only was it fun and interesting, but I learned so many things. Some advice I would give future HMP students is to be open and bold. Sometimes, we need to be open to what these internships will bring to us and do our best in what we get. Additionally, it wouldn't hurt to ask the employees at your internship if you can help around. Just make sure to strive to do the best and help those around you.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page